By: Scott Wyant – Video Production Assistant – UNCG – Email / Twitter

Your job’s culture is the single most important aspect of the job, period.

I’ve worked in sports since my college days at VCU and culture has played a major role in how much I enjoy each job. My football coach when I was at Delta State, Todd Cooley, sums culture up perfectly, “People make the difference.”

The more I thought about Cooley’s statement the more I understood exactly what he meant. At UNCG our marketing, communications and video staff has become a tight-knit group that oftentimes will hangout after work.

That concept, as I write it sounds pretty insane because we spend so much time together at the office and then working game nights you’d think we’d hate each other. For whatever reason even after disagreements and tough losses we still want to be around each other and it’s pretty special to be a part of on a daily basis.

In the last month, we’ve added a new element to our team: group workouts. For our team we have a wide spectrum of fitness levels and I’m likely near the bottom of the spectrum. So, as you can imagine this is a daunting task, embarrassing myself in front of my co-workers is not my idea of fun.

Fortunately, this group workout has not been as humiliating as I thought, instead it’s been a great benefit to everyone involved.

Led by our strength coach Danny Wheel, our workouts last about 45-minutes. Each session features a High-Interval Intensity Training or HIIT workout.  Although the name seems intense each individual can work to their fitness level instead of reaching a certain number of reps. For example, a typical workout includes five different exercises for about 30-seconds each.

Since we began in March our group has grown from three or four to as many as 10 of our co-workers. Each member sets their own expectations and is met with encouragement from each member of the group.

This activity has brought our tight group even closer. Working together and encouraging one another in something that isn’t our day job has been extremely beneficial. Our team’s positiveness throughout these workouts has shown me that our group truly cares about the success of each member as well as a newfound respect for my friends.

These fitness sessions have helped our group grow. What are the activities that help your staff develop a bond outside of work?

Remember, people make the difference.

